Steakhouse Chili

I love this chili. Its so good. Its a nice change from my usual chili recipe. Its slightly sweet but spicy. Its been so cold outside here today, this was the perfect meal to warm me up! This recipe is from the October issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp evoo

4 slices bacon, finely chopped- I used 2 thick slices

2 lb. ground beef- I used 1 lb.

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

4 tbsp chili powder

salt and pepper

1 15oz can tomato sauce

1/3 cup worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp hot sauce

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 cups beef stock- I used low sodium

sour cream and chopped fresh parsley for garnish

Directions:

Heat evoo in large skillet. Cook bacon for about 3 mins or until fat starts to render. Add ground beef and brown, about 8-10 mins. Add onion and cook until soft, about 5 mins. Stir in garlic, chili powder, just a little salt (the bacon provides lots of salty flavor), and lots of pepper( I used about 10 grinds on the pepper mill).

In med bowl, whisk together tomato sauce, brown sugar, worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce. Pour into ground beef mixture. Stir in beef stock.

Bring to boil and reduce heat. Simmer about 1o mins or until chili has thickened.

Ladle into bowls and top with a big dollop of sour cream and some finely chopped flat leaf parsley.

DSCN1882

Leave a comment