Sugary Sweet Chili

I love chili. No, I mean I REALLY love chili. I very rarely make the same kind twice. Recently, on one of my favorite food blogs, Prevention RD (Original recipe from Christine’s Kitchen Chronicles) ,I came across a chili recipe that had sugar in it. Now, before you judge it, try it!  I have never in my life had such a delicious bowl of chili. Its the first time that I’ve ate chili without some type of crackers crumbled in it. There was not a single bit of it leftover. 

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lb lean ground beef

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 14 oz can tomato sauce

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes

1 6 oz can tomato paste – fill can with water and add to chili also

1 can bush’s chili beans in sauce

1/2 packet chili seasoning – I used a whole packet

1/4 cup sugar

pinch of salt

black pepper

1 tsp hot sauce

shredded cheddar for garnish

Directions:

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a large sauce pot over medium heat. Add in ground beef and onion. Season with salt and pepper and brown.  Add in everything except the cheddar and simmer on low heat for about an hour. Ladle into bowls and top with a handful of grated cheddar.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine @ Christine's Kitchen Chronicles
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 23:16:17

    Hey that’s my mother-in-law’s recipe. I’m so glad you gave sugar in chili a shot and found it to be irresistible! :)

    Reply

    • lilscorpio1985
      Oct 24, 2011 @ 23:23:18

      Yes, its fabulous!!! Tell your mother in law shes definately on to something with the sugar in the chili! lol I’m planning on using it as my go to recipe! I absolutely love your blog btw. I just discovered it yesterday when I saw the link on the Prevention RD blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

