Smashed Potato Skins

This is another recipe from Rachael Ray’s BOB cookbook. I served these with the sloppy hot wing joes and found that they are the perfect side dish!

Ingredients:

2 1/3 lb. small red potatoes-I used baby yukon golds

1 cup buttermilk

6 slices bacon

1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

1/4 cup chives

salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Arrange bacon slices on slotted broiler pan and bake 10-15 mins or until crispy. Let cool and crumble. Place potatoes in med. pot. Cover with water and boil until fork tender.  Drain and return to hot pot. Add in buttermilk, cheese, chives, crumbled bacon, and salt and pepper. Using potato masher, smash until you reach desired consistency.

DSCN1500

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecookingnurse
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 13:15:34

    Thanks for sharing, I will be giving this a try for sure!

    Reply

  2. Maryanna
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 02:08:25

    YUMMMMM!

    Reply

  3. The Novice Chef
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 02:26:58

    MMM Thats how I like to make my mashed potatoes! Now I think I will have to make them tomorrow after this yummy reminder!

    Reply

  4. Donna
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 02:35:08

    These sound fantastic. I will have to give them a shot soon. YUM!

    Reply

  5. Molly Jean
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 04:00:58

    I think I just gained three pounds reading this. I’m looking forward to gaining three more pounds when I try it this week!!!

    This is like the ultimate potato recipe… and I LOOOVE potatoes! Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  6. Karine
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 04:39:39

    The smashed potatoes looks delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

    Reply

  7. Joelen
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 12:59:16

    Looks delicious and I love all that flavor mixed in!

    Reply

  8. Alisa@Foodista
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 16:00:34

    Yum! I love smashed potatoes!I followed you from the foodieblogroll and you have a great site! I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

