Buttermilk Chicken Tenders

I love fried chicken. Period.  Ive tried tons and tons of different fried chicken recipes and this one is my favorite so far. Its even better than the fried chicken recipe that I grew up with. These chicken tenders turned out so pretty. I served them with some mashed potatoes and corn.  I didnt do the scallion part of this recipe because I dont think they are necessary but if you wanna do it, by all means fry em up!

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/bucket-o-chicken-ranch-dip/

 

Ingredients:

4 cups buttermilk- I only used 2 cups and it was plenty

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp hot sauce, plus more to taste

1/4 cup italian parsley, chopped

1/4 cup fresh dill, chopped- I didnt have any fresh dill on hand so I used about a tbsp of dried dill weed

3 tbsp chives, chopped

juice of 1 lemon

salt and pepper

2 lb. chicken tenders- I used 3 huge chicken breasts and cut them into strips

canola oil for shallow frying

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sour cream- I used fat free

 

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix together buttermilk, garlic, hot sauce, parsley, dill, chives, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Set aside about 1/3 of mixture for dipping sauce.

Season chicken tenders with salt and pepper and place in buttermilk mixture. Marinate 10 mins. Heat canola oil in large skillet until hot. Dip chicken tenders into flour and then into hot oil. Fry in batches until they are golden and completely cooked through, about 5-6 mins. Drain on some paper towels or paper bag. Mix sour cream into reserved buttermilk to thicken it up and add salt, pepper, and a little more hot sauce. Serve chicken with dipping sauce.

0910091758a

Leave a Reply

