Chicken and Dumplings

Since fall is in full swing and the weather has been chilly here this week, I decided that chicken and dumplings would be the perfect meal for tonight. I love chicken and dumplings so much. They really take me back to my childhood.

Ingredients:

3 bone in, skin on chicken breasts

water, enough to cover the chicken and 1/2 cup for the dumpling batter

salt and pepper

2 1/2 cups self rising flour

1/2- 1 cup water

1 heaping tbsp mayo- my mom swears by this…she says it makes the dumplings fluffy!

Directions:

Put chicken in large stockpot. Cover with water and season with salt and pepper. Cook on med heat for about an hour or until chicken is tender enough to shred with fork.

Remove chicken from pot and transfer to plate to cool. Shred.

At this point, you may need to add a little more water to broth to make enough to cook dumplings.

In bowl, combine flour, mayo, and water, starting with 1/2 cup(you can add more flour if the batter is too thin). You want the batter to be sort of like thick pancake batter. Drop dumpling dough by the heaping tbsp into boiling broth. Reduce heat and bring broth down to simmer. Cook dumplings about 5 mins, flip them, and cook another 5 mins. Stir in chicken. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste. Ladle into bowls and serve!

* You can double the batch of dumplings  if you need to

DSCN1811

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 23:39:21

    I made this tonight. How was yours not just like broth. I also had to double the dumplings… It wasn’t enough for my husband, myself and my toddler. Did I do something wrong??

    Reply

    • lilscorpio1985
      Dec 10, 2009 @ 00:20:04

      I guess the flour from the dumplings makes the broth thick. Ive never had it to be just like broth though. The chicken breasts I use are always pretty big and its makes plenty for me, my husband, and my brother..usually with leftovers… I have no clue why yours didnt turn out. If you try it again though, you could always double the dumplings like you said you did this time and to thicken the broth if its too thin for your liking, just make a slurry of 2 tbsp of flour and some water. Whisk it together and then add to the pot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

