Caribbean Jerk Chicken Lettuce Wraps

So, this recipe happened purely because I was out of several things that I needed for the chinese chicken lettuce wraps that I had intended on making.  I browsed through my fridge and pantry to try to find some stuff to throw together because I still wanted lettuce wraps, even if they were different that the ones I originally wanted. Oh how I love lettuce wraps. 

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken breast, cut into chunks

1 red bell pepper, diced

3 large scallions, sliced thin

Several romaine lettuce leaves

salt

pepper

1/2 to 1 cup chopped mango, depending on how much you want on your wrap- I just used some frozen mango that I had thawed

Several tbsps of caribbean jerk marinade- I used Great Value brand from Walmart

 

Heat 2 tbsp of oil in a large skillet over med-high heat. Season chicken chunks with salt and pepper. Add to the skillet and brown on both sides until cook through. Add in diced red pepper and sliced scallions. Saute until veggies start to become soft, about 3 mins or so. Pour in some of the jerk marinade. I didn’t measure this. I just poured it in until I could completely coat all of the chicken with just a bit left over in the pan. Scoop some of the chicken/veggie mixture into the lettuce leaves and top with chopped mango.

* Chopped pineapple would also be good in this recipe if you don’t have any mango on hand

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stephanie
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 02:10:02

    Great twist on the Chinese lettuce wraps! I love Caribbean jerk flavors!

    Reply

  2. Nicole, RD
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 11:24:49

    The mango in this makes the dish, I bet. Yum!

    Reply

    • lilscorpio1985
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 22:03:15

      Yes, it does! The coolness and sweet taste of the mango really sets off the spicy jerk sauce!

      Reply

  3. Molly Jean @ The Rookie Chef
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 01:56:22

    That’s a great idea! I do have a caribbean jerk seasoning that I’ve used to make grilled chicken before but this sounds like a must try reason to break it out again. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a comment