Chicken Tortilla Soup

Is the weather chilly where you live yet??  Here in Kentucky, especially during the evenings, its obvious that fall has arrived!  Every year when the leaves start falling and theres a slight nip in the air, I get into soup mode. I could eat soup everyday.  I’ve made tortilla soup many, many times.  Most of the time, I use a different recipe just because I like to experiment. I’ll share my favorite with you one day. Don’t let me forget!  Anyway, I found this recipe on Sing For Your Supper blog. She had adapted the recipe from a William Sonoma cookbook. The broth for this is SO flavorful. I could’ve ate the it alone and been satisfied. The addition of the zucchini in this dish is great. It becomes super tender and just melts in your mouth.

Ingredients:

2 large chicken breasts, roasted in the oven and shredded

6 cups chicken stock

1/2  onion, chopped

2 small zucchini, peeled and chopped

1 large garlic clove, minced

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2  tsp pepper

juice from 2 large limes

 

Directions:

Heat about 2 tbsp of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add chopped onion and zucchini and saute about 3 minutes or until slightly tender. Add garlic, chili powder, cumin, chipotle chili powder, salt, and pepper and stir until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Pour in the chicken broth and bring to a boil. Add in shredded chicken, reduce heat, and simmer 15- 20 minutes. Turn heat off and stir in lime juice.  Pour into bowls and top with your choice of garnishes. I used crushed tortilla chips, shredded monterey jack cheese, and chopped cilantro.

*Serves 4

Leave a Reply

